Flashes of revelation delighted me,

In church today the Old Testament reading was from Ecclesiastes 1 and it kind of threw me a bit.  Now I know that God is not saying that our lives our meaningless and when you read it all in context that is not what it is about.  But the words reminded me of my life before I found God.  It really was all meaningless, there was a void, a God shaped hole that needed filling and no matter what I did it was not satisfied, that is until I finally came to my senses and asked God in to my life.  I went on to read a bit more of Ecclesiastes when I got home and I really love chapter 3 and the concept that we should be happy with our lot, to find satisfaction in our lives for they are a gift from God.  Within our lives there is a time for every aspect of human life to laugh, to plant, to mourn, to dance and so much more.  I rejoice that I can say my life is not meaningless and I resolve to offer my life to God for him to use to ensure that my life and my actions have meaning and touch the lives of those around me in amazing ways.

  • Ecclesiastes 1:2 – ‘Meaningless! Meaningless!’ says the Teacher. ‘Utterly meaningless! Everything is meaningless.’
  • Ecclesiastes 3:1 – There is a time for everything and a season for every activity under the heavens:

MEANINGFUL

My life was meaningless, without purpose, trivial and hollow until I chose to follow Jesus, I went through periods of desperation as I questioned my purpose, never certain of the future, aware that I was a loser, the devil my accuser would point out my flaws and failings, derailing me at every juncture, puncturing my bubble and causing trouble, yet Jesus opened my eyes to the lies of the enemy and I stood my ground, turned my life around and recognised that now I had found my purpose I could surface from my life of uncertainty to be the person God appointed me to be, a time for me to rise from the ashes, flashes of revelation delighted me, I was loved, I was free, reborn into God’s family enjoying a season for every activity, and I can laugh and I can dance, I can speak out and take a chance, I can love and I can embrace for I know that God is in this place, wherever I am then God’s there too, meaningless no, meaningful yes, God will use my mess to bring him the glory that’s the awesome part of having a story.

Leave a Reply

