Surely God is in this place

My online reading today is all about Jacob and how he had the dream at Bethel. The part that struck me and we were asked to reflect on as part of the study was that God is with us everywhere, so wherever I am, however I am feeling I can stop and say, “surely God is in this place”.

Genesis 28:15 – 17 – “I am with you. I will watch over you everywhere you go. And I will bring you back to this land. I will not leave you until I have done what I have promised you.” Jacob woke up from his sleep. Then he thought, “The Lord is certainly in this place. And I didn’t even know it.” Jacob was afraid. He said, “How holy this place is! This must be the house of God. This is the gate of heaven.”

 SURELY

Surely God is in this place, look around, OK so you don’t see his face, but he’s your resting place, your shield, your rock, he never stops working, never swerving, never changing, sustaining you through good and bad so when you’re down and troubled, when someone’s burst your bubble, when you feel alone at home or at work remember you are not in the dark cos God is in this place, he is everywhere, omnipresent, every second of every minute he’s in it, OK you may not hear him, when you seek you may not immediately find, but that’s the time to remind yourself, it’s OK God’s in this place, cos we know this race is not ours to run alone, have you ever known him leave you? No.  Cos he’s our mate, our God, our Father and he tells us we will never suffer alone, he is our buffer and in him we place our trust, so be chuffed that God chose us, be thankful that God reached out and touched base with us and let that knowledge reassure us that wherever we are our God is in this place.

Leave a Reply

