A recovering people pleaser

So was reflecting after Monday when we were talking about fears.  One thing I identified as a fear was thinking others were judging me.  It’s not a major fear but it does surface every so often.  Today I read a post by Clayton Jennings that said “Never let the opinions of people distract you from the promises of God”. So true, what does it matter what others think of me, I have my identity in Jesus and I claim his promises for my life.

Acts 4: 10-12 – let it be known to all of you and to all the people of Israel, that by the name of Jesus Christ the Nazarene, whom you crucified, whom God raised from the dead–by this name this man stands here before you in good health. “He is the stone which was rejected by you, the builders, but which became the chief corner stone. And there is salvation in no one else; for there is no other name under heaven that has been given among men by which we must be saved.

Hebrews 13:6 – so we can confidently say, “the lord is my helper; I will not fear; what can man do to me?

WHAT GOD KNOWS ABOUT ME

What God knows about me is more important than what others think, in the blink of an eye they’ll be gone but God’s love goes on and on, listening to others and believing their opinions are of any consequence is a sign you are losing your confidence, accept God’s word first and foremost, he knows your innermost thoughts, take it from me a recovering people pleaser you should never be eager to receive feedback from those who will side track you from your redeemer, don’t take things personally face them fearlessly, prisoner of unease no longer, stronger because of promises given to you by God, stand on his word do not falter, don’t alter your path for fear others will laugh or deride you, take pride in your relationship with God, scarred but not broken, our God has spoken, I will never leave you or disown you, the cornerstone, your foundation, supporting you on your journey so don’t worry about what others think or say, remain focussed on God cos his love never sways.

 

Leave a Reply

