Shall I tell you a lie, what you want to hear

I have been reading about truth and love and how we as Christians need to combine both qualities in our conversations and dealings with those we meet.  One explanation I particularly liked was:

  • Truth without love is condemnation/judging
  • Love without truth is permissiveness

In Ephesians we are encouraged to speak the truth in love so we become more like Jesus. The balance is to be honest but gracious, to show love and compassion in all our conversations and to seek God’s help and guidance in every situation so we can learn to deal with things as he would (What Would Jesus Do?)

Ephesians 4:15 – Instead, speaking the truth in love, we will grow to become in every respect the mature body of him who is the head, that is, Christ.

James 5:19-20 – My brothers and sisters, if one of you should wander from the truth and someone should bring that person back, remember this: whoever turns a sinner from the error of their way will save them from death and cover over a multitude of sins.

 TRUTH AND LOVE

Shall I tell you a lie, what you want to hear, tickle your ears so that you don’t fear condemnation, so you feel vindicated in your choices, or shall I tell you the truth, intertwined with a maligned view of your crime, judgmental, condemning, not very loving, making out that I am holier than you when the truth is I’m a sinner too, or do I speak in truth and love, as my Father up above has taught us to do because you may not see the need as you wander from the truth, but in honesty I would hope that you would do the same for me not leave me in perplexity if I have listened to the enemy and wandered far from the best God has for me, so see what I am doing now, seeking to allow you to draw closer to God, offering loving intervention, just a quiet mention of God’s perspective praying it proves effective in drawing you closer to your Lord your Saviour and challenges your words and behaviours.

Leave a Reply

