I’m living in a Godly culture

Our readings in church today were from Luke and I was taken in by the story of the sinful woman and the parable of the money lender.  You know I sat in church and thought “God I owe you so much cos you have forgiven me for so so much”.  But then I thought you know, my sins may seem big to me but we all have so much to thank God for, I suppose sometimes I think because I didn’t become a Christian until later on in life and because of the paths I took I am like the “sinful woman” who anointed his feet, I have so much to thank and praise God for that it kind of overflows into an immense love and desire to serve, but let’s face it we ALL have so much to thank for because without his forgiveness we are nothing.

Luke 7:41-43 – Two people owed money to a certain money-lender. One owed him five hundred denarii and the other fifty. Neither of them had the money to pay him back, so he forgave the debts of both. Now which of them will love him more?’ Simon replied, ‘I suppose the one who had the bigger debt forgiven.’ ‘You have judged correctly,’ Jesus said.

YOU NAILED IT

Forgiveness, because of you God I will never be the same, a thousand times I failed, a thousand times you nailed it, forgiveness for each and every time I strayed, for every sin, every blot on my copybook, you took a look as a loving Father and rather than turn your back on me you let me see that I was still your child, still loved and could still be forgiven and you didn’t even care how I was living my life before I met you, cos you paid my dues when you died on the cross and that was enough, your love was clearly demonstrated, no need for you to remonstrate with me, you gave me freedom and eyes to see, the choice… well that was mine, you always knew I could be refined, I just needed to define the path I would choose, choose to win or choose to lose, and at last I chose to be a winner, no longer a sinner condemned and unclean, but washed in the blood of Jesus, no longer beating myself up at every juncture, cos I’m living in a Godly culture, forgiven and free, blameless and shameless, I draw on your greatness and give you my weakness and God, you are the greatest cos there’s no limit to your forgiveness, whatever our stories, whatever our weakness you come to meet us and I can’t tell you what that means to me, forgiven and free, God my love for you knows no limits, no boundaries, you took all my flaws and imperfections and turned them into mighty blessings, you are more special to me than I can tell, so God, in a nutshell, you saved me from hell by your amazing grace, and for that I LOVE YOU (words in upper case!)

Leave a Reply

