I can’t be like Jesus if I cling to worldly things

I want to be more like God, I want to keep learning, keep growing, keep changing for the better and it tells us in the Bible to follow God’s example as dearly beloved children, so we need to imitate God as a child imitates their parents, follow his lead and to me that means loving as Jesus did, spending time in prayer as Jesus did and to want the best for others, as Jesus did, wanting everyone to know of the amazing gift of eternal life that is freely available to ALL.

  • Ephesians 5:1 – Follow God’s example, therefore, as dearly loved children
  • Luke 5:16 – Jesus often withdrew to lonely places and prayed
  • 1 John 2:6 – whoever claims to live in him must live as Jesus did

GOD’S WAY

You do it your way, I’ll do it God’s way, I love what he loves and mourn what he mourns, and I was born for such a time as this, I can’t be like Jesus if I cling to worldly things, I need to ring the changes, arrange my priorities, my hands and my feet doing God’s work, my tongue speaking the word of God, he has placed me right here, right now and this is my time to claim a life filled with love, he led by example and I for one am an imitator of God, aiming to reflect his character in my behaviour, drawing closer to my Saviour daily, abiding in him, walking in his ways, a co–heir with Christ, God’s fellow worker, and I ain’t never been no shirker, I’ll work with fervour and commitment, I have the backing of the Holy Spirit, I live in Jesus I throw all my weakness at his feet, he completes me, strengthens my resolve, he died for me, involved me in his plans since before time began and I want to evolve into a mirror image of God, to be transformed from glory into glory because now I understand history, the simplicity of his gift to me, Jesus dying for my freedom, Jesus rising again into God’s Kingdom, Jesus a gift like no other, Jesus my brother who spent hours praying to his Father in heaven and that’s such a valuable lesson, in order to grow in my walk with my Saviour I need to adapt my behaviour, spend time in his presence, repent, allow God to cleanse me, receive his blessings, press into his word, hear his voice, worship God, take time to rejoice.

Leave a Reply

