The Bible liberally sprinkled with fairy dust

Over the past couple of days I have really felt an overwhelming desire to speak out about the church’s indecisiveness and lack of biblical teaching on sexuality.  I kind of feel it is a bit of a calling for me but was not 100% sure that I could really achieve anything and stand up for God on this matter and then this morning I received a picture message from a friend out of the blue – NOTHING will be impossible for you – Matthew 17:20 – He replied, ‘Because you have so little faith. Truly I tell you, if you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, “Move from here to there,” and it will move. Nothing will be impossible for you.’

It really gave me a boost, you know if this is what God wants me to do then he’s just told me I can do ANYTHING is his name.  So, I had started this poem yesterday and this spurred me on to complete it and it’s kind of a message to the church to reconsider their views and their teaching and to be bold enough to stand up for Biblical truths.

Galatians 6:1 – Brothers, if anyone is caught in any transgression, you who are spiritual should restore him in a spirit of gentleness. Keep watch on yourself, lest you too be tempted

MESSED UP

Today I’m standing up for all those messed up by your inability to give clarity on the subject of sexuality, I mean let’s get this straight all scripture is God breathed yet you perceive that what it says is not to be believed.  I’m not so sure I understand how you can twist the truth to say that just because Jesus never spoke about gays then it’s OK, or maybe your slant is that the Old Testament is old hat and all that crap. Here’s the thing, the New Testament says it too, but then I suppose you interpret that differently, we’ve evolved, sexual sin was different then, it was just about old men exploiting boys and that’s what all the noise was about, it’s OK if you’re gay and in a relationship, no censorship required, no obedience desired from a church that isn’t listening to the Lord – STOP, can you afford to send a generation to hell because you want to tell it as you see it, the Bible liberally sprinkled with fairy dust, no longer asking us to trust God’s word but to listen to those who want to be heard, the movers and shakers, the fairy tale makers who twist God’s word to serve their purpose, all-encompassing liberalism, human wisdom replacing God’s vision of man and woman, stop allowing your ears to be tickled, interpreting the Bible to fit the sin, that’s not what it means to pick up your cross and follow, it’s shallow and self-serving, we are not deserving of God’s pardon yet he forgives us ardently and if you don’t see it as a sin then how can you let Jesus in to save you from yourself, if you are taught that it’s OK to be gay in any way, shape or form, if it becomes a “norm” of Christianity then isn’t it like profanity, an irreverent action that’s gaining traction because of a lack of interaction between those who make the laws and those who seek God’s word, people’s lives literally depends on this, if we don’t preach the truth then what use are we, we live in a fallen world with a fallen nature, God loves the sinner but not the sin, let’s not spin the truth to smooth over the cracks, when I first came to church I lacked clarity, people were very nice to me but there was no solidarity amongst the Christians that I met, no one was getting how hard it was to interpret the Bible when all around the babble of consent was let’s relent to the secular view, I knew it was part of God’s teaching, I was reaching for answers, searching for clues, and I was not alone in wanting to know which way to go, I could turn to Google or the media, researched what academia had to say about God, church and being gay but they just served to confuse and here’s the news, the church needs to stand up and be counted, God’s word can no longer be discounted, love all your sisters and brothers, speak out in love, no point being a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal, without love you are nothing, speak out if your brother is caught in transgression, that’s a lesson from the letter to the Galatians, restore sinners in the spirit of gentleness and are we not called to test everything, hold fast what is good, should we not yearn for all to be saved, for all to no longer be slaves to the sins that bind them, I speak out to remind you that God calls us to love, what greater love can you have than to save your brother, what greater love than to stand united with those struggling to see, to help them receive God’s forgiveness and that means stop bearing false witness.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

