God is easier to speak to than most people I know

This verse from the end of Psalm 84 struck me today – Lord Almighty Blessed is the one who trusts in you

Trust is an important part of building a relationship with God, when your default has always been to run from your problems it can be hard to run to God but his arms are always open and he is always there to listen.  I actually find now that talking to God is kind of natural and I find it much easier to tell him everything than to tell other people, just sometimes have to remind myself to “run to” God rather than ignoring the problem or running away!

  • Psalm 42:5 – Why, my soul, are you downcast? Why so disturbed within me? Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise him, my Saviour and my God.
  • Isaiah 41:10 – So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand
  • Psalm 61:2- From the ends of the earth I call to you, I call as my heart grows faint; lead me to the rock that is higher than I

RUN TO GOD

Running away became a habit, but now I let God sort it, spending time with God puts things into perspective, and I am attentive to his voice, no longer doubting my value, no longer running from who I was, I’ve turned my back on the past, I am fearless, spending time with God is my deliberate pursuit and yes I am human and he is God, yet he is easier to speak to than most people I know, he knows how I’m feeling, gets how I tick, he sticks by me in every situation, he is with me and tells me not to be afraid, to trust in his unfailing ability to provide stability, he offers tranquillity, a place of safety and now I tackle my problems with faith, I no longer tiptoe around them with fear because of the fact I know Jesus is near to me and keeps his promises, like he will never give up on me, he’ll never leave me, he’ll never send me into a situation alone, he has shown me over and over again that he is more than a friend, his love for me transcends all human comprehension and have I mentioned he forgave me, he died on a cross, you see he means more to me than you can imagine, his love didn’t just “happen”, he chose me, adopted me into his family, he takes delight in my growth, he clothes me in strength and dignity and because he loves me I can laugh without fear at the future cos I know with God my life will be better, so today I surrender all to my Saviour, when  my heart grows weary I no longer query why, no longer run away, quite the reverse, I run to the arms of God, immerse myself in his love, he comforts and guides, forever by my side.

Leave a Reply

