A great cloud of witnesses gathered to cheer us

When you think about faith it seems like a straight forward concept, so how come we often fail to trust God in situations, how come at times we try to go it alone?

I was reading Hebrews 11 and 12 today and it really spoke to me about how important it is to keep faithful, to trust in God regardless of what is happening in my life and to know that whilst my plans may not seem to be working out, he has the most amazing plans which ultimately will serve to bring him the glory, so his power and glory can shine through each and every situation.

So for example I am praying for a Christian pastor and his wife in China who have been imprisoned for trying to prevent officials taking the cross down from their church.  I have to keep my faith as I pray for a seemingly impossible situation that God will release them.  However, just because I’m praying for their release doesn’t mean they will be released immediately.  God ultimately has a plan and a purpose for their lives and right now it might be that they are to witness to prisoners and prison officials, or it could be that God has an amazing plan timed to perfection so that when they are released it will really showcase his power and glory.  However, I still have faith that they will be released, I just have to keep the faith over time and trust God’s perfect timing and plans.

James 2:18 – 18 Now someone may argue, “Some people have faith; others have good deeds.” But I say, “How can you show me your faith if you don’t have good deeds? I will show you my faith by my good deeds.”

Hebrews 11:1 – Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen. 

Hebrews 12: 1-2 – Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us. Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before Him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.”

VICTORIOUS

Faith, believing the impossible will happen before it happens, I face the impossible so that God’s power and glory can shine through me, I trust his purpose and I never give up cos I know that my God knows no impossibility, if you believe it then live it, and think on; there’s a great cloud of witnesses gathered to cheer us, Noah, Abraham, Joesph and Moses all great men of God who like us had faith in his promises, who never lost heart and never gave up, Noah spent years building an Ark just because God asked, now that’s faith!  So when you feel like your mountains aren’t moving, the water’s not parting, trust in God’s purpose, remember faith and obedience go hand in hand to execute God’s perfect plan, rely on the Holy Spirit who is the wind in our sails, proceed on your own and you’ll most likely fail, faith is a gift of God which comes from hearing his word, life is hard yes, but we are called to press on, to persevere and without faith we can never draw near to our God, continue in prayer, praise and obedience, never relent from reading God’s word, the sword of the Spirit is with us, we have a belief in God’s purpose, he wants the best for us and whatever way God chooses to use us we are victorious and when God is ready the breakthrough will come, I am an overcomer because through faith I will prevail, faith wins impossible victories, victories that emphasise God’s magnificent glory and this ain’t no story (although there is a happy ending) this is a truth transcending all understanding that with God nothing is impossible, nothing too hard for him who loves us, so strengthen your faith in God and fix your eyes on Jesus.

Leave a Reply

