The Bible challenged me with truth but now that truth has set me free

When we become Christians we turn from our sins and are “free”.  Jesus calls us to hold on to his teaching which is the truth and we know from scripture that the truth sets you free.  We were all slaves to sin, like the rest of us I was a sinner and needed God’s redemption and grace to be saved.  I had a particular lifestyle that I needed to change and to do that I had to firstly believe that the Bible was truth, the teachings within the Bible were God breathed and from that point I had to desire to change and ask God to help me.

In my case that was not easy, once I had believed in God’s word I then had to readjust many aspects of my lifestyle and hand over the same sex attraction to him.  But I take heart from God’s word, in particular John 8 where Jesus says – hold on to my teaching then you will know the truth and the truth will set you free.  I thought that fighting the same sex attraction would be too much to handle, but you know what, God has set me free as he promises in his word and I do not struggle with that at all.  I still struggle with feelings that I have let my partner down and see the hurt in her but you know what, I have handed that to God too.  Sometimes I don’t know how he is going to reach her but I know he will, he reached me and I trust that he has a plan and a purpose for her life too.

God has given me freedom and I know he wants us all to have the same freedom in him, praise his almighty name.

  • John 8:31-32 – To the Jews who had believed him, Jesus said, ‘If you hold to my teaching, you are really my disciples.  Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.’
  • John 8: 34-36 – Jesus replied, ‘Very truly I tell you, everyone who sins is a slave to sin. Now a slave has no permanent place in the family, but a son belongs to it for ever.  So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed.
  • 2 Corinthians 3:17 – Now the Lord is the Spirit, and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom.
  • Galatians 5: 13-14 – You, my brothers and sisters, were called to be free. But do not use your freedom to indulge the flesh; rather, serve one another humbly in love. For the entire law is fulfilled in keeping this one command: ‘Love your neighbour as yourself.

FREEDOM

Freedom, your grace is the power to overcome sin and I am complete in him, the Bible challenged me with truth but now that truth has set me free, I am assured of complete freedom, a process, not sudden but completeness assured for there is more mercy in God than sin in the world and he died to free me from that sin, live unashamed, complete in him for the past is just a story that holds no power over me, without freedom from the past there is no freedom, I shake it off, I don’t need to carry  that cross anymore, Jesus restored me when he died on his cross, stripping away my disordered desires, seizing control as the Spirit of God leads my life, unashamed I kneel at your feet and allow you to complete me, adopt me permanently into your family, for I am free indeed, you gave your life to give me mine, rejoice for the lost sheep is found, my life turned around because of your mercy, my life changed forever, and I am no longer a slave to fear and the enemy’s lies, I am alive in Jesus, fully alive, fully saved, fully forgiven, praise God I am risen with him to eternal glory, he saved me, redeemed me and rewrote my story.

Leave a Reply

