May forgiveness surround the family as we unite in your victory

I was watching a testimony on youtube last night and the girl was brought up in a single parent family, her perspective on God as her Father was interesting and got me to reflecting.  Because as a child my father was a very angry and aggressive man I have a similar experience as in not an absent father but a father who was a poor role model rather than a positive and loving father.  I started writing about this but deleted what I wrote.  I felt God wanted me to look forward and not backwards, to accept that things happen that we may not like and to see my Father through his eyes.  My Father recently started going back to church and I want to pray for him to come back to Jesus is a massive way, I sometimes find it hard to pray for him, that’s the honest truth, but I know that Jesus has commanded us to love each other and to respect our parents and that’s what I am going to do.

John 13:34 – As I have loved you, love one another

Ephesians 6:1-2 – Children, obey your parents in the Lord, for this is right. 2 “Honour your father and mother,” which is the first commandment

A PRAYER FOR MY FATHER

I pray for God’s love to overwhelm you, I pray for his voice to resound in your head “it is finished”, you are a new creation and as a relation of God our Father you are forgiven, I pray for love to abound, forgiveness surround the family as we unite in the victory that God our Saviour has won and when all else fails God will not, he is our rock, our anchor in the storm, you were lost but can be found, God surrounds you even now with love, he’s waiting for you to reach out, you can be free, redeemed, forgiven, the past’s the past, today is different, write a new chapter in your story, claim God’s glory for yourself, may Jesus himself speak to your heart, may you not spend one more day apart from his love, as he reaches down lift your head and look into his eyes, the eyes of forgiveness, the eyes of love, may he turn your heart of stone to flesh, may he bless you with abundant grace, may he let you see yourself through his eyes, penetrate the enemy’s lies, un-muddle your thoughts and clear your head, may you live for God and be dead to sin, I pray you will open your heart and let God in.

One comment

Leave a Reply

