I desire a faith that is fully awake

My Bible reading today was from Mark 14 and it really struck me that when Jesus most needed the prayer and support of his disciples they fell asleep, not once but three times.  Got me to thinking how we can become complacent or lazy even in prayer, not being vigilant and watchful.  God calls us to devote ourselves to prayer and also shows us that prayer is a powerful and mighty weapon.  So it’s not about falling asleep or being tired, to me it’s more about being alert in my prayer life, being awake to what God is telling me and to be active through the Holy Spirit living in me, being powerful and having impact.

Colossians 4:2 – Devote yourselves to prayer, being watchful and thankful

James 5:16 (Message) – The prayer of a person living right with God is something powerful to be reckoned with

2 Timothy 4:17…..But the Lord stood at my side and gave me strength

BE AWAKE

Wake up, devote yourself to prayer, I desire a faith that is fully awake, an alert and thankful mind for the enemy prowls round like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour, but I hold the power for God lives in me, the Lord stands with me and gives me strength and I am not afraid cos I was born for this, to resist the enemy, stand firm, the Kingdom of God is within me and I desire all that he offers me, staying awake I meet you face to face and I receive satisfaction, my determination rewarded with action, and when God lays something on my heart I act for it is heaven sent and I cannot relent from seeking God’s grace, standing firm with my Christian family praying for victory over the enemy, persistent, consistent I must be, awake and alert, not deserting my station, I am God’s own creation and I am standing firm in belief and trust, prayer and praising I’ll never give up.

One comment

Leave a Reply

