It seems the enemy is not keen on my speaking out against this sin

Ouch….well that’s how I felt last night when a member of my prayer group fed back that someone who had heard my testimony thought I was being judgemental on all gay people and then we had a long discussion about whether it was right or wrong and I just find it so hard because so many Christians sit on the fence in fear of being seen to be politically incorrect.  Maybe they don’t know the bible enough to recognise that God condemns the sin of homosexuality or maybe they just don’t want to hear it – makes me think of 2 Timothy 4:3 – For the time will come when people will not put up with sound doctrine. Instead, to suit their own desires, they will gather around them a great number of teachers to say what their itching ears want to hear.

I suppose I have to ensure that when I share my beliefs which are based on the truth of the Bible I do it in a non-judgemental and loving way but at the same time I want people to have the opportunity to come to know God like I do so I cannot afford to tiptoe around the main point of my testimony which is that God called me out of a sinful lifestyle, there I said it, I was a sinner and until I recognised and accepted God’s word that I was sinning I was unable to claim my place in his Kingdom.

Here are just three of my bible references that back up my beliefs (note all from the New Testament)

  • 1 Corinthians 6
  • Romans 1: 26-28
  • 1 Timothy 1: 8-11

So from an initial place of “ouch” that hurts (and it did) I am now at a better place of peace that God uses these challenges to help me grow in my faith and I will get better at explaining my calling…

OUCH

Ouch, that hurt, something I said touched a nerve and something you said came as a bit of a curve ball, I have to be strong when the enemy attacks, a test or maybe more than that, I felt that I was unprepared, snared, trapped and there’s the problem, always be prepared to share the reason for your hope, and I am prepared to share my story, to show the glory of the Lord and surely there can be no greater guide than the word that God provides for us, his word of truth and love and what do they say, the truth hurts, the truth when it challenges our thoughts and our feelings revealing things that are displeasing to God, well it can hurt because we are human and we like to think that we can do this on our own but God knows the challenges that I faced, God knows the shame, how hard it was to seek his grace before I saw that he loved me but not my sin, no condemnation, he reached into the situation and showed me love, forgiveness and peace so now at last I stand redeemed and it seems the enemy is not keen on my speaking out against this sin, for sharing God’s sound doctrine, so yes there will be doubters, scoffers, false teachers who say what humans want to hear, our itching ears desiring to be tickled are we so fickle that we believe these lies, faithlessly believing false teaching and preaching or are we prepared to walk the narrow path, his rod and staff protect and comfort me, his arms surround me and he defends me from the enemy, so I trample on the enemy as I stand up and speak God’s word, I crush him underfoot as I pick up my sword and claim a place of victory, because of God’s forgiveness and love I am now free.

4 comments

  1. Amen! And stay the course on His Word! God says it’s Sin ! Stay strong! The devil doesn’t want you being a witness for Christ with a new life and light!! If possible try to limit yourself from people who want to attack you in order to feel better about themselves. We can’t ignore others in sin but gaurd yourself🙏🏻🙏🏻🤔🎈

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Another Amen! People will always see it as condemnation when you reiterate truth because it is not your own words. You are merely conveying the piercing truth that is God-breathed which truly penetrates. Don’t let the scoffers stifle God’s work in your life and know you are not alone 🙂

    Like

  3. That’s great to see a sister in Christ standing for the Truth. Keep doing that and God will honor it and for the ones that said you were being judgemental. I would question their true allegiance either to the truth Jesus Christ and to the world which belongs to the god of this age according to 2 Corinthians 4:4. I also wrote about homosexuality if you have a chance take a look at it….here is the link.
    https://spiritualminefield.wordpress.com/2016/06/18/homosexuality-did-god-make-them-that-way/
    God bless you sister.

    Like

Leave a Reply

