I find enrichment and blessing from dwelling with my God

My daily readings have turned to the build up to the Easter story and I was taken today by this verse in Mark:

Mark 10:45 – For even the Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve, and to give his life as a ransom for many.’

When people think about God do they really think about the service, the fact that Jesus spent his life on earth serving us and then in a totally selfless act gave his life for us?  When I think about how Jesus served it makes me more eager to serve him, to do it all for him, to give up ambition or plans that are purely selfish and to seek to work for him, and I know as the bible tells us that through this my life will be enriched.

Philippians 2:3-7, “Do nothing from selfish ambition or conceit, but in humility count others more significant than yourselves. Let each of you look not only to his own interests, but also to the interests of others. Have this mind among yourselves, which is yours in Christ Jesus, who, though he was in the form of God, did not count equality with God a thing to be grasped, but emptied himself, by taking the form of a servant, being born in the likeness of men.”

Proverbs 11:25, “Whoever brings blessing will be enriched, and one who waters will himself be watered.”

SERVICE

The son of God came to earth to serve.  Jesus came to serve us, to give his life for us, kind of like a ransom, a payment for all our sin which we have no chance of repaying alone, I’m saying that we needed him and he gave up everything, so why am I grumbling about my life, Jesus was blameless and innocent and came to save this crooked and twisted generation whose lives revolve around personal ambition, greedy people living conceited lives, open your eyes, be humble, stop arguing saying there is no harm in sin, sin surrounds us and the only escape is in the act of our maker who took on the weight of the world’s sin, one man’s offering saving so many, his attitude reflected in the beatitudes, regard each other as more important than you, take on the mind of Christ, shine your light like the stars in the sky, It’s not about me and what I want to be, taking on Christ’s character I forget what’s behind and seek to serve others, become an encourager and as I refresh others I receive refreshment from the streams of living water that God provides his sons and daughters, I find enrichment and blessing from dwelling with my God and Saviour, my behaviour conforming more to a pattern of Holy living, giving of myself, selfless living the key to emptying me of me, being filled with a love that satisfies, an attitude that defies human understanding, a life of selfless abandonment, serving my Saviour a life of content.

Leave a Reply

