Like a sheep with the shepherd I am protected

Hearing God’s voice. So have been thinking about this over the past few days, I don’t physically hear God’s voice but I do know he talks to me through verses he gives me or thoughts that come into my head.  I continually seek to hear him more and as I draw closer to him I know he will draw closer to me (James 4:8).

I was watching a sermon on hearing God’s voice yesterday and learnt something incredible about the context of being like sheep and God as our shepherd, given the role of shepherds in biblical times.  So without going into a long explanation basically a group of shepherds would often keep their flocks together so there could be thousands of sheep in one “super” flock.  But when the time came to separate the flocks each sheep would respond to their own shepherd’s voice.  They knew the shepherd intimately and would follow their commands and their commands only.

So how did this happen?  Through time spent together, the shepherd getting to know their flocks, often calling them by names, guiding the sheep, leading from the front, side or rear, gathering up the stragglers and protecting them whilst all the time using reassuring tones and words as he leads them in safety.  The shepherd has an intimate knowledge of all his sheep, counts them into the fold at night and lays in the doorway until morning protecting them from danger.

John 10:4-5 – When he has brought out all his own, he goes on ahead of them, and his sheep follow him because they know his voice. But they will never follow a stranger; in fact, they will run away from him because they do not recognise a stranger’s voice.’

So how much does that bring scripture alive, all the references to sheep and shepherds suddenly just became more powerful to me because I started to understand it in the context it was written.

In terms of hearing God’s voice, well that’s clear too, I need to spend quality time with God, allow him to guide me, follow his commands closely and pay close attention to him and I will learn to hear his voice more clearly every day and it is only him to whom I will respond.

LIKE A SHEEP

God, you know me so well, you can tell in the blink of an eye what I need right now, you talk to me, comfort and cajole me, lead me on the right paths, guide me and I am tuning in to you, I am listening daily, spending time prayerfully asking for your guidance, listening in the silence, attentively waiting for your word, seeking your direction, your correction and following that narrow path, loved, known by name, my frame of reference defined by your love, you speak, I hear, you lead, I follow, your voice the one that resounds in my head, your voice the connection and you are my shepherd, you guide me in honour and virtue, you go to such lengths to defend me from the enemy lurking outside the fold, you give me strength and make me bold to cry out worthy is he the God of all nations who loves me, and so you see I am already hearing your voice and I will hear it more and for that I rejoice.

Leave a Reply

