God’s promises intended to be kept

Luke 1:45 – Blessed is she who has believed that the Lord would fulfil his promises to her!’

Been reading Genesis 15 today as part of my daily reading and really it’s all about God’s promise to Abraham.  Yesterday I was watching a video of Priscilla Shirer, “rehearse who you are in Christ” which just emphasised so many of God’s promises to us and who I can be because of those promises.

I used to have a real issue with promises, as a child I naively used to ask my parents every night to promise not to fight, “I promise” they would say, later on I would be woken up to the sound of them fighting.  Promises meant so little to me, yet I kept going back and asking them to promise in the vain hope that one day they would mean it.  So what’s a promise?  In the past to me it was empty, hollow,  but something I sincerely desired to be kept, almost like I would keep going back for more and more because in my heart I knew that a promise should mean something, a promise should be kept, yet I was let down time and time again.

But now, since knowing God for a year I have recognised that a promise from God is something to be believed, trusted and cherished.  God does not make empty promises, God does not let me down, God is truth and love, God has already fulfilled many promises to me and I know his commitment to me is rock solid, based on truth and light.

Here are just 4 verses that help me to see God’s promises at work in my life

Beating addictionPsalm 50:15 – and call on me in the day of trouble; I will deliver you, and you will honour me.’

Baptism of Holy SpiritJohn 14:13-16 And I will do whatever you ask in my name, so that the Father may be glorified in the Son. You may ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it. ‘If you love me, keep my commands and I will ask the Father, and he will give you another advocate to help you and be with you for ever 

Strength to do God’s Will – Joshua 1:9 Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.’

Losing Shame – Psalm 34:5 – Those who look to him are radiant; their faces are never covered with shame.

BLESSED

Blessed because I now believe

Blessed, because I receive your promises and know they are true

Blessed, because I know you can, but more than this I know you do

You promise, I believe

God makes a promise and never breaks it

He will never leave me nor forsake me

God’s promises intended to be kept

They never expire, never lapse

His promises shine on my problems

His promises provide the solution

God does not forget his promises

The rainbow a symbol of his pledge

His covenant fulfilled

My life filled with truth and light

Promises that see me through the night into a new dawn

Promises that have depth and meaning

I am leaning on all God’s promises

I am claiming all his words of victory

And I am blessed for I believe

Leave a Reply

