He’s praying for you to get it…

Have been reading John 17 over and over.  Had never really considered this prayer before but what a message.  This is a prayer Jesus himself prayed for us, for me.  I have broken it down into my three wow factor moments.

John 17:15-19 – My prayer is not that you take them out of the world but that you protect them from the evil one.  They are not of the world, even as I am not of it. Sanctify them by the truth; your word is truth. As you sent me into the world, I have sent them into the world. For them I sanctify myself, that they too may be truly sanctified.

WOW moment one – Jesus asks for our protection, he states that we are not of the world we are like him and as God sent him into the world so he is asking for us to be sent into the world, we are to do his work, we are to mirror Jesus and his work on earth.

John 17: 20-23 – ‘My prayer is not for them alone. I pray also for those who will believe in me through their message, that all of them may be one, Father, just as you are in me and I am in you. May they also be in us so that the world may believe that you have sent me.  I have given them the glory that you gave me, that they may be one as we are one  I in them and you in me – so that they may be brought to complete unity. Then the world will know that you sent me and have loved them even as you have loved me.

Wow moment two – Jesus didn’t just pray for those who were already his disciples he prayed for all who WILL believe in him.  That was me before I came to know him kind of echoing Romans 5:8 while we were still sinners he loved us and he prayed for us.  There is also a strong message here of unity, being united in our faith so the world WILL know that Jesus came to save us all.

John 17:24 – ‘Father, I want those you have given me to be with me where I am, and to see my glory, the glory you have given me because you loved me before the creation of the world.

Wow moment three – Jesus wants us to be with him, to see his glory and asks Father God for us to be with him.  AWESOME!

DO YOU KNOW

Do you know there’s a God who loves us so much he sent his son to die for us and OK so maybe you’ve heard the story but don’t comprehend the glory behind this message, we are not here by mistake or because of some big bang that happened millions of years ago, we are here by design, designed by the creator of the universe who flung stars into space, created the sun and the moon and more excitingly created you in your Mother’s womb, he formed you, knows you inside out, he gave you free will but have no doubt his plans for you are perfect and when you elect to think it through to talk to God who created you he is waiting to show you all the great things you can be, with God in the picture your reality just got better, he is ready to take all the pain and the hurt, to turn your life on its head, you know, Jesus himself prayed for us, prayed to his Father to protect us from evil, to absolve us from our sins, to purify us in his name, and not just those who already proclaimed his name but all of us despite our sin, our past, our shame he prayed for us to be with him in glory, to be with God in his heavenly kingdom, think on, he loves you that much that even though you don’t talk to him much, even though you don’t believe in him yet, he’s praying for you to get it, to be part of the greatest story, to be with God in eternal glory, now that’s a love worth fighting for, a story worth reading, Jesus interceding with his Father for us, now that’s what I call unconditional love.

Leave a Reply

