Obedience, like a language of love to God

Was reading about Joshua today and marching around the walls of Jericho.  Just spoke of how we need to be patient when waiting for God and also obedient.  How easy it would have been to not do what God instructed, I mean really!! the wall falling down at a shout, not so easy to believe yet Joshua believed and carried out God’s instructions, he was patient and his obedience and patience paid off. I too need to have a bit more patience in my walk with God, sometimes I just want everything to happen now and that’s just not God’s way, so I am working on developing more patience.

James 5:7 – Be patient, then, brothers and sisters, until the Lord’s coming. See how the farmer waits for the land to yield its valuable crop, patiently waiting for the autumn and spring rains.

Colossians 1 10-12 – so that you may live a life worthy of the Lord and please him in every way: bearing fruit in every good work, growing in the knowledge of God, 11 being strengthened with all power according to his glorious might so that you may have great endurance and patience, 12 and giving joyful thanks to the Father, who has qualified you to share in the inheritance of his holy people in the kingdom of light.

Psalm 40:1 – I waited patiently for the Lord, he turned to me and heard my cry

Revelation 14:12 – This calls for patient endurance on the part of the people of God who keep his commands and remain faithful to Jesus.

 PATIENCE

Are you impatient, like just a little, do you skip to the end of the book to find out what happened, fast forward the film to see the ending, are you overbearing when waiting for a train, do you strain to see what’s happening up ahead because somehow you missed the calm head when patience was being handed out, do you yearn to know what God’s got in store, hunger to explore his plans for your life, to put it bluntly do you cause strife to others cos you haven’t got the button with patience written on?

God is patient, this is our God…

Our understanding not necessary, obedience required, this is our God…

Wait for the Lord, let your heart take courage, step out of your comfort zone, God makes it known that all things work together for good for those who love him, have patience, be obedient, this is our God…

Obedience, like a language of love to God, say yes to God, go on have some fun, take a risk, be radical, God wants you to have a go and there will be no peace in your soul until you obey, this is our God…

Patience, waiting for God’s unsearchable wisdom, the mystery of his ways, for him to complete the good work he started in us, amazing grace, this is our God…

Holy Spirit fill me with strength to persevere when I start to fear and take my eyes off God, when things are feeling hard let the waiting force me to cast my eyes to the source of my faith and assurance, this is my God…

May any trials cause me to persevere through deepening my knowledge of God, relying on the Lord intentionally, unconditionally, God is patient and everything will happen in his time, this is our God…

God, build my trust, patience and obedience, you never gives us more than we can endure of that we are assured, trust and obey, there is no other way for this is our God.

2 comments

  1. Amen! When God is ready to bring the change into our lives, then and only then will it happen. I was reading Joshua not long ago and it spoke to me about God’s timing on the day that He told Joshua that in three days they would pass over the Jordan and possess the Land. I mean after all that waiting and mourning moses death for a year…and suddenly, IT’S TIME…God’s timing. I’m new to blogging and want to invite you to check out my site and if interested follow me back. I believe that it is important to support others as we are all trying to build up the Kingdom for Christ. Keep up your great work for Him 🙂 And thanks for the great post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

