God’s promises to me, more than a rainbow filled sky

God has made so many promises to us in his word, and he keeps every single one of them.  I was thinking about this today, like when I make a promise, I don’t always keep it or if I do I might half keep it or do it half-heartedly, yet God isn’t like that he promises us such fantastic and great things and then he delivers.  He does this cos he loves me and today I am claiming those promises and I am making a giant step forwards in my life, the past is history….. forgiveness required, moving forward required and yes that is my Lent promise to me today, I am giving up looking backwards and concentrating solely on looking forwards…

These promises are just some that mean so much to me..

Ezekiel 36:26- I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit in you; I will remove from you your heart of stone and give you a heart of flesh.  And I will put my Spirit in you and move you to follow my decrees and be careful to keep my laws

Romans 8: 1-2 – Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus, because through Christ Jesus the law of the Spirit who gives life has set you free from the law of sin and death.

2 Corinthians 5:17 – Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: the old has gone, the new is here!

Psalm 34:7 – The angel of the Lord encamps around those who fear him, and he delivers them

Psalm 91:14-15 -For the Lord says, “Because he loves me, I will rescue him; I will make him great because he trusts in my name. When he calls on me, I will answer; I will be with him in trouble and rescue him and honour him

James 4:7 – Submit yourselves, then, to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you.

Isaiah 41:10 – So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

GOD’S PROMISES                                                     

God’s promises to me, more than a rainbow filled sky, I fly like an eagle soaring above the storms receiving God’s promises, giving myself permission to accept his covenant of love, to heal and progress, no longer digressing, no longer diverted by mistakes of the past, no longer clinging to my failures for fear of exposure, releasing my anxiety to the Lord and saying once and for all there is no condemnation, my past just a story, history, it’s done, it is finished and the inspired word of God is my defence against enemy lies, temptation surrounds but so does God, his word a light to my path, he has taken my stony, stubborn heart, instead of a rock he’s given me a gem, my human heart replaced by the immortal heart of Christ, the light of the world who guards me as I honour him, as I cry out his name he rescues me from danger, his armies are by my side, no mountain too high, no ocean too wide, and the Lord himself watches over me, God has a firm grip and will never let go carrying me through every storm, upholding me with his righteous right hand and I stand up to the enemy, resist his lies, submit my life to God who protects and sustains me, he makes the enemy flee from my presence, I have found acceptance, a place where I can be present with no fear of condemnation, no anxious thoughts, no shame or blame, no longer chasing rainbows, not broken but beautiful, acceptable in God’s sight, picking up the pieces and making them right.

Leave a Reply

