I run the path he has marked out for me, just me

I heard a poem the other day about running the race, falling down, getting back up and it resounded with me and made me think about my race.  I came to the starting line late, but hey that doesn’t matter God restores all that the enemy has stolen and he is building me up, so I am not running away from my problems anymore, I am not running away from God anymore, I keep my eyes firmly on him, OK so yes I may stumble now and again but I will always get up and keep going, always..

Hebrews 12: 1-3 – Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith. For the joy that was set before him he endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. Consider him who endured such opposition from sinners, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.

2 Timothy 4:7 – I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.

Psalm 119:32-  I run in the path of your commands, for you have broadened my understanding.

Matthew 10:22 – You will be hated by everyone because of me, but the one who stands firm to the end will be saved.

OFF AND RUNNING

I’m off and running and I’m not turning back, my goal at the end of my life to stand up and say I’ve finished the race and I’ve kept the faith, I’m off and running after a poor start but now my heart is in the race and I fully embrace the prize that lasts forever, the promise of a place in heaven, a room in one of God’s mansions, not to mention meeting my Saviour face to face, now that is why I run the race and yes I will stumble and I will fall but I refuse to give up, I am a winner and God smiles every time I pick myself up and dust myself down, I run the path he has marked out for me, just me, this isn’t a competition with all of humanity, this is my journey, my race, my time, I race towards Jesus and with him I can do all things, he shows me how to escape from my sins, don’t quit, don’t cave in, use his word as a light to my path, when the race has drained me of all strength I remember God’s grace is all I need, his power works best in my weakness so I don’t compare my progress with others, like the Hare and the Tortoise it’s not about speed, it’s about seeing the journey through to completion, believing that God restores all that the enemy had stolen before I got to the starting line, believing that God loves me right here, right now despite my immaturity as a Christian he is able to use me to fulfil his vision, he’s building me and teaching me and cheering me on at every stage of my race, he is the face in the crowd that encourages, energizes and reassures, my biggest fan who knows I’m not an “also-ran”, he sees that I’m a winner, this humble sinner launched into eternity through Jesus living in me, at the end of my life I will stand up and say, “I’ve finished the race and I’ve kept the faith”, I will claim God’s unending love and amazing grace when at last I see him face to face.

Leave a Reply

