Doing it my way no longer an option or choice I will be making.

Happy New Year!  Had a great start to the year, randomly was watching the celebratory fireworks from the window of my holiday apartment and I could clearly hear an obviously large group quite nearby welcoming the New Year in with the song  The Lord’s my Shepherd with the refrain “I will trust in him alone” and all I could hear ringing around in my head was those words – I will trust in him alone – what a fabulous start to the New Year and yes I will be trusting Jesus as I continue in my walk with Jesus this year, going it alone, doing it my way no longer an option or choice I will be making.

Proverbs 3:5 – Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding;

Psalm 42:11 – Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise him my Saviour and my God.

TRUST IN HIM ALONE

Going it alone, like you’re standing on the road but you don’t know where you’re going, your bags are packed yet you have no destination you’re hoping for some inspiration, anticipating some company on the journey but in reality you are lonely, empty and lacking reason, yes OK it has been said it is better to walk alone than with a crowd going in the wrong direction but on reflection is doing life alone ever going to measure up, is it ever going to fill you with happiness, does it provide you with the support you need?  When things get tough are we agreed that it is always better to have another to share the burden, someone to turn to, someone who you would trust with your life, no questions asked, you would hand over everything to them, well for me that’s Jesus, I may not know what the future holds, where the road is leading, but I know he holds that future in his hands and I will trust in him alone, he loves me and created me for a purpose and when He created me in my mother’s womb, he said “this is good” not “this one’s bad!” Hallelujah, I am no accident of birth, no mistake, no reject. I am accepted, cherished, wanted and I have potential to be like him, he works all things together for good for me and I must consider this, how different would my life be if my immediate response to every situation was to ask God, if every time I reached a crossroads on my journey I got down on my knees and prayed, if every time I struggled with a decision I turned to him and said God help me here I need your guidance, if every time the devil taunted me I allowed God to silence his negativity,  I have to learn to do my best and let God do the rest, let God be my travelling companion and can you imagine how amazing my journey will be when I learn to trust him totally, to pull entirely on his strength to accept without question all the blessings he offers, to praise him in happy times, seek him in times of difficulty, to worship him in times of peace and tranquillity, to trust him in times of pain and in every situation give thanks to his name, going alone, no longer an option I’m walking with Jesus by the grace of his adoption.

Leave a Reply

