Just say No, easier said than done in an age where worldly pleasures are celebrated

Was praying this morning and have been praying for a while about my calling and how God wants to use me and God gave me Titus 2.  I read this through a couple of times and found it a bit odd, like here I am an ex “Gay” woman reading about teaching right and wrong to women and men in their Christian lives, almost felt like giving a lesson in good marriage practices which I am not qualified to do.  However, read again a couple of times and verses 11 – 14 came out at me:

Titus 2 11-14- For the grace of God has appeared that offers salvation to all people. It teaches us to say ‘No’ to ungodliness and worldly passions, and to live self-controlled, upright and godly lives in this present age, while we wait for the blessed hope – the appearing of the glory of our great God and Saviour, Jesus Christ, who gave himself for us to redeem us from all wickedness and to purify for himself a people that are his very own, eager to do what is good.

So this was more me, I know that God called me out of ungodliness and worldly passions, I know about this and am passionate about my story because I believe it’s a story that can help others come to know God, I believe that the Bible is our guide and our tool for living and want to help others struggling with their lives to see that God loves them regardless, God gave himself to save us and no-one is beyond his help, no-one is exempt, he loves us all, we just need to see that and turn to him for help in changing, he will do the rest.

SAY NO

Just say No, easier said than done in an age where worldly pleasures are celebrated, where some interpret the Bible to suit their current situation not reading into the depths of God’s word, but turning the word to suit their desires, not seeking 100%  to live upright lives or at least lives that would be pleasing to God but twisting his words or shying away from those verses that just may cause concern or make them just that little bit uncomfortable, like verses that cover sexual behaviour, immoral practice and I have lost track of those who say being gay is only wrong in the Old Testament, like HELLO, just say no, I get that it’s hard I live by the sword and every day face battles and temptations but with God on my side he’s given me my redemption, he gives you the power and the strength of mind to continue the fight, he will not give you more than you can handle so step up to the mantle, read the Bible yes both Old and New Testament, your time reading a valuable investment as you wait for the blessed hope, you know the saying give yourself enough rope and you’ll hang yourself, take your bible off the bookshelf, pray to God that you can be true to self, he will show you the way it’s all there in his word, I pray that you will see the light and understand how you can live your life right, it’s not easy and may sound glib when I write just say no, I know, I really know but once I recognised it was the right way to go God showed me how, he paved the way he gave me mentors and friends who stay right by me, help me and guide me and would God lie to me, he seeks the best for me and has made it abundantly clear in his word that I must say no, die to self and rise with Jesus, his promise of eternal life enough for me, his sacrifice a plus for me cos I was dead to all he offered me until I stepped out of the sinful me, gave my heart completely to God above and felt his amazing, unearned love, God came to redeem us from all wickedness, to purify us, are you eager to do what is good, to serve him as you know you should?

Leave a Reply

