Somewhere along the line I picked up this addiction

So finally I’ve got it, self-harming is an addiction.  OK so that may be obvious to some of you, but when you are in the midst of it you may just not get that.  So I can now see that like an alcoholic or drug addict I will always be susceptible to this (have a propensity to fall back easily if I don’t keep focused) and I have to recognise that it will take time to beat and will be a lifelong challenge to maintain.  However with Jesus I don’t face the challenge alone and I know that he is with me forever and will support me forever in beating this thing.  So now I’ve identified that it’s time to work on breaking this stronghold, Jesus promises in Revelation that he is making everything new, a new heaven and a new earth, so I am claiming my “newness” early, I will be made new and every stronghold will be broken

John 8 v 36 – So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed.

Philippians 4:13 – I can do all this through him who gives me strength

Psalm 34:17 – The righteous cry out, and the Lord hears them; he delivers them from all their troubles.

Exodus 33:14 The Lord replied, ‘My Presence will go with you, and I will give you rest

ADDICTION

Hey God, so now I’ve finally got what you’ve known like forever, somewhere along the line I picked up this addiction, but that’s what your crucifixion was for, to break down the strongholds that are holding me hostage, to clear the blockage between mind and actions, to change my reactions, cos you show me that no one’s too broken, too scarred or too far gone to change, I will never stop fighting, never lose faith cos I realise my fear of failure is the enemies greatest weapon but you God are more powerful than my temptations and yes I see that my mistakes have no excuses they are defective but how I react to those mistakes, how I learn from them defines me more than the mistake itself, every weakness a chance for God to show his strength in my life, every setback is a setup for a comeback, you want to make be better, stronger, Jesus you are my recovery, changing who I was to who I’m meant to be, giving me freedom so as I am a child of God, Jesus lives in me, he can break any addiction and set me free, I won’t let it define me, confine me, outshine me, I choose to move on and leave it behind me, pray on it, pray over it, pray through it for strength, courage and dignity, so today I shake off my timidity and boldly say to God I know you have a way, show me your plan and may it happen in your time, I am focused, I am ready, I turn my back on the past and look forward to what lies ahead, God give me the power to face my problems, just because I think I’m worthless doesn’t make it true let me see me the way you do, let me take the opportunities you afford me, you set me free, I will be free indeed, I can do all this because of you, because you are with me, you give me rest, you deliver me from all my troubles and cares, I can do this because you are there.

Leave a Reply

