Am I prepared to die to self?

Had a lot of help and support yesterday both from God directly and from God through my prayer group.  I needed to confront issues head on and to release my inappropriate coping tools to God, he died for me so I could have life and that life should be good, I believe that I have taken that on board, God is working for me and with me and I feel today that I am a new creation and yes I am prepared to die to self, hand it all over to God and grab passionately all that he is offering to me after all he is the greatest King of all and the most powerful Lord of all, why wouldn’t I want the best he can give me?

Galatians 2: 20 – I have been crucified with Christ it is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me, the life I now live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God who loved me and gave himself for me

Revelation 19: 17 – the greatest king of all and the most powerful lord of all

DIE TO SELF

Am I prepared to die to self?  Am I ready to pay the price and sacrifice myself, just like Jesus did for me, does that unnerve me, strike me as hard, have I thought about discarding my plans and dreams cos it seems like that’s not a lot to ask, my task to hand it all to God, to say OK God I’ve given you my life but now I see there’s a sacrifice, I have to give up those things I cling to, handover my comfort blanket, handover my issues and let God in and let this sink in, Jesus died for me.  You know the story, the one where Jesus is crucified on a Cross because, well because he loves us, because he wanted to make all things right, he wanted to use his might and influence so that we could have a different sort of life and when Jesus died on the Cross think of it like this he died for no reason except to save us so how much more should we be prepared to die to self and if only for one reason, to become more like Christ, he died with nails in his hands and a spear in his side, he put aside his heavenly throne, came to earth all alone, he sacrificed perfection for our imperfection, our shortcomings and deficiencies, he faced hostility from every quarter, from every corner of the earth people sought to put him down, find fault in his teaching and malign his preaching but Jesus stood firm, faithful and true, he died for me and now I see that I have to pay it back, no longer I, but Jesus living in me through Christ I am redeemed, set free to be a child of God through my faith, don’t mistake rule keeping for faith, If a living relationship with God could come through rule keeping then Jesus died unnecessarily, it’s not about dotting the “i’s” and crossing the “t’s” it’s about me, my identity as a child of the risen Saviour, not about my behaviour, my joy or my suffering but about bringing the glory back to Jesus whose death on the cross has won for me the victory, Jesus my Saviour not my religion, I live by faith, belief and a strong conviction that death could not hold him, he is risen, God is at work in me, he died for me in public so I live for him publically, I am his completely and as I meet with him today, here’s what I’m going to say, God take my life, no longer I but you, all conquering God, no longer my will but yours be done oh awe inspiring one, I die to self, I die to me I open up my heart and ask to be more like you the greatest King and powerful Lord of all, to reflect your grace, shine your light, speak the truth and do what is right.

One comment

Leave a Reply

