Checkout of the Valley

My #adventchallenge today was to find a way to encourage someone, which is a fab challenge and one I really enjoyed.  Got me to thinking about how sometimes we all have bad days and a word of encouragement can mean so much at that point, God himself tells us in the Bible over and over “Fear Not”,  “Do not be afraid” we have to hand our anxiety to God and it is good to feel encouraged and know that God wants us to hand it to him.

Despite being a Christian I still have days when I feel I am in a valley, almost for me like a “pit of despair” which I sometimes describe myself as like having a black cloud descend over my thoughts and mind, so have written this as a kind of encouragement to others when they are in their own valley.

These are the 3 verses I have referenced:

James 1:12 – Blessed is the one who perseveres under trial because, having stood the test, that person will receive the crown of life that the Lord has promised to those who love him.

Psalm 23 – Even though I walk through the darkest valley, I will fear no evil, for you are with me

Hosea 2:15 – There I will give her back her vineyards, and will make the Valley of Achor a door of hope

DO NOT BE AFRAID

Having one of those days, feeling down, down in the valley, feeling really low, nowhere to go, no one to turn to, looking around comparing your inside with the outside of others, feeling troubled, your enthusiasm curbed, your mind disturbed, do not be perturbed for we have a champion who walked through the valley on our behalf and in our darkest and most trying hours he is near, he is there to take hold of our fear, and it is clear he knew we would struggle in life, so many times in the Bible he tells us “do not be afraid”, he made that statement cos he’d made payment for our sins, he only brings us to things he knows we can deal with, your joy in the Lord doesn’t depend on your circumstances, he advances you through each valley, only God can make the valley of trouble a door of hope, you will cope and in your valley God moulds you into a warrior of faith, your fate in his hands, your destiny written, so your valley’s no prison, just don’t unpack and live down there.  Take a reality check don’t forget you are human, it’s OK to have a meltdown every so often and think on, you see great things from the valley but only small things from the peak of the mountain, blessings come through raindrops, healing comes through tears, allow God to steer you on your journey, mountains, valleys, estuaries, deserts and all in between, I wanna master the journey and the question isn’t who’s gonna let me, it’s who can stop me?  With God on my side no-one can defeat me, so I’m climbing out of the valley and aiming for the peak, love surrounds me, love is the beginning, the middle, and the end of my journey, It comforts, counsels, cures, and consoles, it leads us through valleys of darkness, leads us to the glory and brilliance of life eternal, so here in my daily journal I offer encouragement, do not be afraid, do not be anxious, be conscious of God’s love and healing, be aware that when you’re walking through the darkest valley you need fear no evil for he is with you, he loves you and protects you walks with you and when you’re too weak he carries you, check out the footprints in the sand, check out the scars on his hands, checkout of the valley, rally yourself, take yourself up to a higher place, believe me you can achieve this through God’s mercy and grace

Leave a Reply

