Jesus campaigned for me, put in a word for me

Luke 15: 3-6 – Then Jesus told them this parable: Suppose one of you has a hundred sheep and loses one of them. Doesn’t he leave the ninety-nine in the open country and go after the lost sheep until he finds it? And when he finds it, he joyfully puts it on his shoulders and goes home. Then he calls his friends and neighbours together and says, “Rejoice with me; I have found my lost sheep.”

I love this parable, probably because I closely identify with it but also because of verse 7

I tell you that in the same way there will be more rejoicing in heaven over one sinner who repents than over ninety-nine righteous people who do not need to repent.

What an awesome picture and I love the thought that when I repented there was rejoicing in heaven and pray there may be much more rejoicing every day as more people get to know about God’s awesome love and forgiveness

YOUR MERCY REMAINS

Today I got to thinking about God’s redeeming love and how it could be that despite failing a thousand times, his mercy remained, so like Jesus campaigned for me, put in a word for his straying sheep, so I was the one not the ninety nine, the one who stepped out of line, the one who strayed, who moved away, I was the one who said, I don’t deserve to be loved by you, I’m just an imperfect girl living in my imperfect world, you see no-one explained that Jesus died for me, no-one told me that Jesus loved me despite my sin, and no one said that letting him into my life would make a difference, like if he looked at me in a mirror he doesn’t see a reflection of me but a reflection of his love for me, so where I saw a sinner, he saw the inner me, the possibilities, the reality of what his forgiveness meant for me and how can it be that he wanted to die for me?  How can it be that he put his life on the line to save mine, nails didn’t hold him to the cross, oh no it was his love for us that held him there and through his death we are redeemed and I say I don’t deserve forgiveness, yet through his sinless sacrifice he gave me eternal life, I am totally undeserving yet when I say to you I don’t deserve this you simply respond, “I forgive you, I love you” and how beautiful to find a heart that loves me without asking me for anything in return, a heart that’s concerned for me, that loves me unconditionally, I don’t deserve your love Jesus but will spend the rest of my life trying to, I don’t deserve you but accept with thanksgiving that your grace changes everything and my life began when you Jesus became my reason for living and now I am singing once more and I may not be a perfect girl but I rejoice that I will live in a perfect world when Jesus returns and takes me to heaven, and I cannot wait to be living with Jesus in glory, the perfect ending to my miraculous story.

Leave a Reply

