Pray, pray and pray again

It’s good to ask for prayer, it’s good to receive prayer and pray for others and it’s good to pray without ceasing.  I asked for prayer this morning and you know what – it’s fab just to know that God’s got your back, your front, your middle, your top and your toes!

So then turned to my daily reading Luke 18: 1 – 8 which tells of the Widow who would not give up asking and illustrates how we must never lose faith and stop praying to God.

v8 – I tell you, God will see that things are made right for them. He will make sure it happens quickly.

What a lesson, prayer is such an important aspect of our lives and sometimes we fail to pray or pray for a while and then stop but God is telling us here he wants us to pray, he wants us to persevere, he wants to answer, in fact desires to answer our prayers and so we must present our prayers to God with faith.  I was given Psalm 91 this morning and reading through it became clear that God is our refuge and prayer is an essential part of claiming that promise, we need to tell God our problems, worries and anxieties so he can protect and shield us, we need to worship him so that he knows we love him and seek his face and he says in v14 to 16:

‘Because you love me,’ says the Lord, ‘I will rescue you; I will protect you, for you acknowledge my name. When you call on me I will answer you; I will be with you in trouble, I will deliver you and honour you with long life I will satisfy you and show you my salvation.’

I also had the following verse in my mind when thinking about this:

Isaiah 41:13 – For I am the Lord your God who takes hold of your right hand and says to you, do not fear; I will help you.

So reflecting on this, if we are scared or anxious and we tell a parent or friend, they would take hold of our hand/give us a hug and reassure us, so why wouldn’t we pray and talk to our heavenly Father so that he can do the same for us and how amazing that he takes our hand and tells us not to fear, like a great big hug from your heavenly Father – awesome.

PRAYER

Hey God, so here it is, prayer is like this amazing gift but sometimes I fail to talk to you or feel that I am pestering you and why would you think that of me, why would you think that my prayers are a pain, a distraction, and I have woken up to see that you limit your action to our asking, so if I don’t pray, don’t say what’s bothering me you are restricted in your force to sort it out, you ache to bring your Kingdom of love and justice to this world, you agonise over our lack of faith and consistency so I get you, you say bring it on, pray persistently and it’s kind of like someone shaking the ground, the more it vibrates the greater the chance of walls tumbling down, so I stand now in joy and expectant hope in the sure knowledge that you are responding to my every calling, you are more than willing to answer, so let’s put it out there, pray without ceasing, pray without feeling that God is not listening, pray with faith and belief and above all pray in agreement with your brothers and sisters for a yes on earth is a yes in heaven, so as surely as I am forgiven I know that you listen and as I speak my thoughts aloud you lift the clouds, you shine the light right into every situation, you are amazing God and as I talk to you I know that I dwell in your shelter, remain in your protection, I have this supernatural connection with the Almighty, the ground will be shaking when I am making my petitions to God, walls are tumbling down, and out of the rubble comes hope and healing,  and I am feeling so good, so close to you God, I know you have heard every prayer, every word and whisper that I have uttered and uncluttered the path so that I can hear you, see you, feel you, be still and know that you are God, it’s not hard, it’s not rocket science I just listen in the silence and hear your voice of calm, no harm will come to me, no anxiety overtake me, nothing will break me, through prayer you protect me, comfort and heal me.

Leave a Reply

