I will not look back in anger

OK so truth is had a tough day yesterday and it’s so easy when looking back at the past to then dwell on it and what might have been, almost got to a “sliding doors” scenario in my mind last night, what could have been, what might have been, and also (sorry God) but I did get a bit angry about the past and maybe didn’t listen to my own advice or really absorb God’s word, but this morning God has flooded me with messages and I pray to work on this and really listen to God so that I can move forwards once more.

First message, woke up with this on my mind from God

Psalm 23:4 Even though I walk through the darkest valley, I will fear no evil, for you are with me;

Second message (I have a number of laminated verses and like to carry one with me, picked up one at random this morning)

2 Chronicles 15:7 – But as for you, be strong and do not give up, for your work will be rewarded.’

Third message from a friend messaged me in a conversation first thing:

Philippians 3:14 I press on towards the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenwards in Christ Jesus.

Fourth message posted on our Church Facebook page (sort of like a weekly thought)

Romans 15:13 – May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.

I WILL NOT FEAR

Even though I walk through this dark valley, I will not fear, for you are with me, you are near and I will not look back in anger, will not look back in pain or sorrow cos tomorrow is a new day, a new beginning and gradually I am winning back my confidence, my determination to build on the foundations of my faith and God does not waste anything, I am not defined by my past, I am prepared by my past, I am a product of God’s love and has he not commanded me, be strong, be courageous, do not be terrified, do not be discouraged, for I am with you wherever you go, and I know he holds my future in his hands, my God is enough, what more could I need, so I press on towards the goal to win the prize for which God called me, through all this confusion and pain I remain strong in the fact that God called me, he saw me floundering, saw me struggling and reached out his hand to me, so I have to see that God is good and would not abandon me now, however hard, however painful I know his angels watch over me, I know he shields and protects me, he fills me with joy and peace and that sure beats relying on your own understanding, stumbling along as your life falls apart at the seams, whatever God brings you to he will bring you through, whatever life throws at you you can beat it with God’s guidance, love and completeness and you can stay strong, you belong to Jesus and your work will be rewarded, he has thwarted the enemy, death is defeated, your salvation completed by his death on a Cross, so count not your losses or your failures, your Saviour offers you favour, fills you with hope by the power of his Spirit and now at this pivotal time in my life I turn my back on the strife and pain of my past, what do I gain through looking back, I press on towards the plans that God has laid down for me, I claim victory over my mind, death is defeated, conquered and crushed, I am an overcomer, a winner, and a redeemed child of the ultimate victor.

Leave a Reply

