He who began a good work in you

I am getting baptised this week (whoop whoop!) and have as part of my preparation been reading about baptism and revisiting my testimony and wow God has been so good to me.  It’s great to keep a daily Blog because it’s a strong reminder of the good times and the not so good and the lessons I am learning.  I know that God never promised walking with him would be easy infact he tells us in Matthew 7:13-14

13 ‘Enter through the narrow gate. For wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it. 14 But small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and only a few find it.

But likewise in Matthew 28:20 he tells us he is with us always

And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.’

So my walk is not easy but is blessed, I am a new creation and a work in progress as God tells me in Philippians 1:6

being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.

NEWNESS OF LIFE

I am walking in a newness of life, oh yes because of my inward change of heart I have been set apart, claimed with love by my friend Jesus, who wants me to be that new creation, valuable, cherished and forgiven, he is my shepherd had always been there, just took some time for me to notice a bit of time to believe that he cared but now I fully understand his deep love for me, the Lord is my shepherd, he rescued me and you know what some people don’t like me believing in you, they don’t believe the way I do but if loving you is a crime oh Lord then I’m up for a life sentence.

– you have taken my repentance and wiped my slate clean and you mean, wow, well you mean the world to me, my world turned upside down the day I got down on my knees and asked you to bring me peace, to forgive me for my misdeeds and you had sown the seeds all those years before, tended and nurtured me despite my single minded tenacity to do this thing my own way, but all praise is due to you oh God, I can but rave about you, crave to learn more, pour over your word and hear what you’re saying as well as praying to you constantly, acknowledging your sovereignty,

– you are impossibly perfect you kept yourself sin free so that your death would be worth it, claimed victory over Satan for eternity, you became ordinary like me and that means so much that you knew life’s harsh touch, you recognise pressures and stresses and I see that my mess was something to be handed over to a loving Father, who takes joy in turning things over and making them new, who knew me before I was born, planned for me from the dawn of time, rejoiced over me when I admitted my crimes and held out my hands in repentance, thanks be to God you gave me acceptance.

Leave a Reply

