Cut through your foolish pride and walk with Jesus side by side

I got it into my head that maybe God was a bit mad with me, over the past few days I felt like I had let him down and almost felt a bit distant from him.  Does God get angry with us?  I don’t know the answer to that, I’m sure he gets disappointed, I know that I’m disappointed in myself so surely a loving Father is going to feel the same, though I’m not sure on reflection that a loving Father would be angry with us.  Anyway got to talking to God this afternoon and you know what, he gave me Isaiah 54 which has really helped me to understand that even if he did get angry it would be fleeting, so miniscule that it’s not worth worrying about because he has everlasting kindness and compassion towards me.  Studying Isaiah 54 led me to a couple more passages (and I am sure there are loads more) Psalm 30 and Isaiah 12 which I have quoted below.

Isaiah 54: 7-8

For a brief moment I abandoned you, but with deep compassion I will bring you back. In a surge of anger I hid my face from you for a moment, but with everlasting kindness I will have compassion on you,’ says the Lord your Redeemer.

Psalm 30: 5

For his anger lasts only a moment, but his favour lasts a lifetime; weeping may stay for the night, but rejoicing comes in the morning.

Isaiah 12:1

In that day you will say: “I will praise you, LORD. Although you were angry with me, your anger has turned away and you have comforted me.

WALK WITH JESUS SIDE BY SIDE

So here’s the thing, I got it wrong and it was me not you, me who decided to go it alone, like I’d thrown my sensible head out of the window and even though I know where to find you, just decided not to read the Bible to find an answer, and I swear it would have been easier just to get down on my knees and say “please” Jesus help me to deal with this, but no, like a fool I twisted it round to say, well God’s mad with me anyway so may as well carry on doing it my way, but doing it my way well that’s not so cool, quite frankly it’s like having the best tools in the world to complete the task, the greatest expert on tap to ask but deciding to cast them aside because of some misplaced pride.  What’s worse is now I’ve talked to you I see that my ignorance is no defence, I should turn everything over to you in prayer, you care and are slow to anger, your deep compassion is not imagined, you tell us clearly your anger is but fleeting, you love meeting with us face to face, doesn’t matter what place we’re at, God is aware that I am human, his son took on our very form so he could be informed and see things from our perspective, he knows that by our very nature we are defective but irrespective of our failings, God is aware of all my feelings from the smallest hurt to the greatest joy, he wants to employ me for his army, use me to destroy the enemy and in order to do this I must listen, must turn to him in every situation, he is the foundation of my faith, and I must step up to the plate, so listen when I promise you God is not angry with you, he is here to nurture you, comfort you and rebuild you, he seeks to favour you and as the morning breaks, take time to celebrate, rejoice in our glorious Lord, who never sways from his word, don’t feel like you have let him down, just understand that he is not finished with you yet, ever since you met him face to face he has been preparing you for the race, and nothing you can say or do can separate God from you, so don’t seek to apportion blame, don’t feel any more shame, proclaim his name in wonder and awe, worship and adore the King who never turns away, your debt he paid by dying on that cross, so why would he get cross with you, that’s not a thing that he would do, just cut through your foolish pride and walk with Jesus side by side.

Leave a Reply

