Can you see the Chameleon in you?

Been looking at Ephesians 4, had already underlined two specific verses from this back in June but now even more underlining in my Bible.  What is standing out for me is that I have got stuck.  How?  Well I am not dealing with my anger well, I go through some strong and positive phases in my journey but whenever my back’s against the wall I don’t cope that well and revert to old coping tools.  That’s where I’m stuck, reference my post earlier today I am holding on to stuff, it’s hard to let go but I must.

Ephesians 4

Verse 1 – I urge you to live a life worthy of the calling you have received

Verses 14 & 15 Then we will no longer be infants, tossed back and forth by the waves, and blown here and there by every wind of teaching and by the cunning and craftiness of people in their deceitful scheming. Instead, speaking the truth in love, we will grow to become in every respect the mature body of him who is the head, that is, Christ.

Verse 26- In your anger do not sin

Verse 31 – Get rid of all bitterness, rage and anger, brawling and slander, along with every form of malice

THE CHAMELEON IN ME

Hey God, been reading Ephesians and feel that you’ve noticed the chameleon in me, the inconsistency in my behaviour showing a flavour of what I used to be, and I know I need to fully receive every gift on offer to me, to live a life worthy of my calling, instead of falling at the first hurdle, continue to encircle me with friends that care, who will lift me up in prayer and I hear that I need to grow up fast, no longer the child, no longer an outcast, but someone who can weather the storm, who you inform and keep on track, who bounces back from temptation, who understands when Satan schemes and plans to cause deceit, I will not beat a retreat in the face of his deception, no I will remember your resurrection and keep my eyes firmly on the King of Kings, speak the truth in love, grow to become a mature believer, never to waver from your track, never to fall back into old ways, to worship you all my days, to recognise that I will still falter and I will still have some anger, but in my anger may I know that sin is not the way to go, it’s OK to be angry now and again but if I am in danger of taking it further remind me of your path for me, wrap your arms around me so I may feel the love of my heavenly Father, take my bitterness and my rage, may I disengage from thoughts of malice, may I find a place of solace, be kind and tender hearted, forgive as you have forgiven, be driven to serve my risen saviour, to manage and handle my behaviour.

Leave a Reply

