What the Beatitudes mean to me

Was introduced to the eight Beatitudes yesterday so today have been taking a look in more detail and trying to understand what they mean for me in my life.

BEATITUDES

“Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven”

Lord may I never be boastful or proud, never allow myself to get so angry that I seek revenge, try to avenge for the actions of others, don’t let me show arrogance or elements of pride, instead may I show humility, charity, and a quiet dignity, understand that all gifts and blessings are from you, open my heart to your word, allow your great grace to lead me, allow your peace to fill me.

“Blessed are they who mourn, for they shall be comforted” 

Lord in my grief you provide me with comfort, I know I’m a sinner and am humble and repentant, forgive me my sins as I forgive others, help me to continue to walk away, to repent each and every day, to come to you and say in truth and love, Father forgive me, cleanse my heart and as I genuinely seek your heart, I know you will give me a fresh start.

“Blessed are the meek, for they shall inherit the earth”

Lord, help me to practice self-control, for in my submission to you I am made whole, may I never seek to resist your commands, regardless of the demands it may appear to make, may I accept that you staked your life on me and obedience is essentially a way for me to show that I follow you in all I say and all I do.

“Blessed are they who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied”

Lord uphold my moral principles, may I be an individual who searches for truth and justice, give me substance to my character, may I register when others need support, when sisterly love is required, when I need to be inspired to search for fairness and equity, compassion and clemency, give me understanding and clarity.

“Blessed are the merciful, for they shall obtain mercy”

Lord, help me to show love and mercy to those in distress, give me a disposition to be kind and forgiving may I address how I deal with others being merciful in my actions and reactions to their needs, remembering your words “as you did it to one of the least of these my brothers, you did it to me”, may I show mercy to all I see.

“Blessed are the pure of heart, for they shall see God”

Lord, help me to be selfless in all that I do, be free from self-seeking desires, aspire to see you here on earth, may I have altruistic characteristics, a true yearning to act solely for you, be of pure intention in my actions, desiring only to serve you in everything I try to do.

“Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called children of God”

Lord, fill me with peace, fill me with serenity, an empathy for those in conflict, those afflicted and in trouble, may I redouble my efforts to preserve the peace, seek to gain release for those unfairly held, seek to be a voice for the voiceless, a spokesperson for the weak who strive because of lack of peace.

“Blessed are they who are persecuted for the sake of righteousness, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven”

Lord, you said “if they persecute me, they will persecute you”, may I serve you more each day, happy to display my faith in you Lord, happy to respond to your word and serve without fear of reprisal for in your arms I know that survival means more than living, but eternal thanksgiving in your courts, nothing that they say on earth can reverse my second birth and so I rejoice and am glad for my reward is great in heaven, where I will attain holy perfection.

Leave a Reply

