Got to stop wrestling with God

Reading this morning from Luke 9 and what particularly struck me was v 23 to 25

Then he said to all of them, “If anyone wants to follow me, he must say no to himself. He must pick up his cross every day and follow me. If he wants to save his life, he will lose it. But if he loses his life for me, he will save it. What good is it if someone gains the whole world but loses or gives up his very self?

It is hard to put this into action every day, yesterday at our prayer group we were looking at quotes and one of ours was “When you are in love with God you are not afraid to yield your life to him” -Heidi Baker.  Discussing this I felt that the initial step of giving your life to God is probably the easy bit, but moving forwards it is sometimes difficult to yield everything.  In all honesty I know that there are certain coping mechanisms that I still hold on to that I need to yield to God, but sometimes it just isn’t easy, in fact a bit scary to think of handing everything over, but that is what I want to do and will try to do with God’s help.

WRESTLING WITH GOD

Lord help me to give up my coping tools, I know that you are patient, loving and kind, but I am also reminded of your commands, say no to yourself, pick up your cross, I need to trust that yielding my whole life to you will result in so many blessings, gifts and precious moments of true joy, enabling me to serve you, to receive all you want to give to me, to receive the best from you, so help me Lord I pray to stay strong in the face of temptations, to focus on you when the going gets tough, just tell me Lord “enough is enough”, trust in you, talk it through, pray for strength, wisdom and blessings and just stop wrestling with you for my way, allow you to take that pain away and serve you honestly day by day

Leave a Reply

