Were they wasted years?

Talking to a worship leader at church I spoke about my regret at all those wasted years, when I had turned my back on God and gone my own way.

She spoke to me of Joel 2 v25

“And I will restore to you the years the swarming locust has eaten”

Wasted Years

What would I be, what could I have done, if I hadn’t run from you Lord and hidden away, if I hadn’t responded in such a way to temptation and sin, if as a child I had let you in?

Today I thought of those barren years, a desert, a wasteland, a time of fear and sadness, temporary madness to be separated from your outrageous grace.

But then I was taught a new verse, one that can reverse the negative feeling and help restore a sense of meaning and positive feelings that I am restored and those years are not wasted, I have repented and I am mended.

Leave a Reply

